Thursday, August 5, 2010

Kagan Confirmed By Senate

In a 63-37 vote, Elena Kagan was confirmed by the Senate as the newest Associate Justice of the Supreme Court. The only Democrat to vote against her was Ben Nelson of Nebraska while five Republicans (in name only) voted for her.

The five Republicans voting to confirm Kagan were Lindsey Graham of SC, Richard Lugar of Indiana, Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe of Maine, and Judd Gregg of New Hampshire. Scott Brown of Massachusetts voted against her citing her lack of judicial and courtroom experience.

Posts about Kagan can be found here, here, and here. Speculation that Harry Reid would scuttle Kagan to preserve his seat are obviously erroneous. I still wonder if the NRA will endorse Reid given that made this a "recorded" vote.

UPDATE: Statement from the NRA which opposed Kagan can be found here.

No comments:

Post a Comment