Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Congratulations To Sharyl Attkisson

CBS News Investigative Correspondent Sharyl Attkisson and her team just won the 2012 Edward R. Murrow Award in the Video Investigative category. They won for their coverage of Operation Fast and Furious aka Project Gunwalker.
CBS News correspondent Sharyl Attkisson, producer Chris Scholl and editor Matt Tureck took home the prize for won for Gunwalker. In the gunwalker case, ATF agents say they were ordered to allow thousands of weapons to be sold to suspected suppliers for Mexico's drug cartels. The idea of letting so many guns "walk" onto the street was apparently to see where they would turn up and go after the major cartel kingpins instead of the smalltime weapons traffickers.
That wailing and gnashing of teeth you hear is coming from DOJ press flack Tracy Schmaler and White House Associate Communications Director Eric Schultz. They were the ones in the Obama Administration who tried to silence Sharyl through their bully tactics. Obviously, it didn't work and the judges at the Radio Television Digital News Association rewarded her for standing tall.


  1. David Codrea and Mike Vanderboegh should have won it.

  2. @RKV: Except they are not "authorized journalists". I like Sharyl and like the work she did to get agents to go on the air, etc. Without her taking that professional risk, it would not have gotten out to the wider audience.

    However, I just think it is tacky that CBS is claiming to be first on the case when we know it was Mike and David. Moreover, it was Mike and David introducing Sharyl to the whistleblowers and feeding her and her team information.